Sometimes, I make life hard for myself.

Amina Rashid
2 min readFeb 21, 2021

--

I do that by going around telling friends that I've become a highly active person and that I intermittently move for 2-3 hours every single day on average.

And although that's not entirely false.

It's not entirely true either.

Yes, I am mindful of moving around a lot in a day, but some days, I enjoy moving a li'l less and a eating a li'l more than I normally feel the need to. Comes back to that, no? I fast, eat move, or sleep based on my body's needs.

Have no idea why in the world I quantified my activity levels for myself and those I interacted w/. I could've just stopped talking at "I eat good food and I make sure to move around a ton". Guess I'll do that next time round. But yep!

Writing this out to free myself of the self-induced pressure I feel to move for at least 2 hours by the end of today. Not 'cause I feel the need to, or even want to, but because I don't want to feel inconsistent in myself.

Before I start to give off the crazy vibe and manifest yet another unwarranted session to the psychiatrist, I'll end w/ "It's okay."

It's okay to move on from having uttered stupid numbers that only ended up messing w/ my own enjoyment in movement.

I am as physically active as I am 'cause I love to be so, and not because I have to meet some arbitrary goal of some or another amount of physical activity in a day.

No. I steer clear of the unnecessary goal thing as much as I can. Goals and rules are important, yes, but only so many.

--

--

Amina Rashid

I mainly write on my profile @aminarashid2005 on FB & IG. Topics include Self, Life, Relationships, Mental Illness, Culture, Society, Well-being, Education etc.