In Retrospect: The Time I Was Put On An Anti-psychotic Pill

Amina Rashid
2 min readMar 16, 2021

--

I know this stuff isn’t as simple as I have a tendency to make it sound, but I do sometimes wonder: Could the antipsychotic I was put on in 2018 have something to do w/ the crippling months long depression followed by more months of emotional numbness and apathy I experienced after being put on it?

😂😂😂😂

It’s honestly so hilarious. I’d be taken for these follow-up, money ripping consultations w/ my doctor at the time, and I clearly remember the doctor being truthfully told that I’d stopped taking care of myself completely (i.e. I was undeniably”depressed”) and he freaking brushed it off as nothing.

Well, it ain’t nothing no more.

In retrospect though, they oppressed their own selves more than they oppressed anyone else, but ya!! I’m glad to have come out of all that w/ knowledge of how to prevent future mental health professionals from oppressing themselves like the few I was caused to cross paths w/ in 2018 did.

We help the oppressed, yes, but we also help the oppressor. We do the latter by preventing a knowing or unknowing oppressor from committing the most stupid, ego-driven actions they feel tempted to commit out of their own lack of self-management. We take their prescriptions, yes, but we don’t check ’em out at the pharmacist’s until WE, ourselves, feel an honest need to.

We let them slap all the labels they need to to be able to feel good and worthy enough as fellow-human beings in themselves, yes, but then we do our own thing. However, it’s important to note that for one to be able to do their own thing, they need to KNOW what their own thing is.

Que importance of investing time in acquiring knowledge of one’s own self (i.e. increasing self-awareness), but ya! Above were simply some ditties I felt like throwing out. If nothing else, take the tip about spending time investing in your own self. Finally, take what works and leave the rest. Imma head back to doing my own thing 😂😉

Buh-bye!

--

--

Amina Rashid

I mainly write on my profile @aminarashid2005 on FB & IG. Topics include Self, Life, Relationships, Mental Illness, Culture, Society, Well-being, Education etc.